jump to navigation

To the Church in Pergamum December 1, 2015

Posted by flashbuzzer in Books, Christianity.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Here are my thoughts on Revelation 2:12-17.

Summary: In this passage, Jesus Christ commands John to write to the minister of the church in Pergamum. In particular, He commends them for their refusal to commit apostasy – even though they could be killed for their faith. Yet He rebukes them for condoning the actions of those who are idolatrous and sexually immoral; moreover, He states that if they do not repent of this sin, then He will judge them with His Word. Indeed, He promises that those who do not condone idolatry and sexual immorality will:

  • be found righteous in His eyes
  • enjoy fellowship with Him.

Thoughts: I certainly hope to meet the believers from the church in Pergamum in the next life and learn how they responded to this letter. I hope to ply them with queries such as:

  • who was Antipas?
  • how did the teaching of Balaam spread to their city?
  • how did the teaching of the Nicolaitans spread to their city?

I am also curious as to how these believers maintained their faith in the face of intense persecution – especially since Antipas became a martyr in their city. Many believers never experience intense persecution; they never need to make life-or-death decisions regarding their faith. While I do not know what the future holds, I pray that God will give me the strength to maintain my faith in Him in all circumstances; I know that I need His strength in this regard, as I would certainly commit apostasy without His guidance.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

