jump to navigation

The Lamb and the 144000 February 6, 2016

Posted by flashbuzzer in Books, Christianity.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Here are my thoughts on Revelation 14:1-5.

Summary: In this passage, John observes God the Son standing on Mount Zion with 144000 believers. These believers have maintained their purity before God; indeed, they are an acceptable offering to God. They have been redeemed from their bondage to sin, and they now sing a heavenly song.

Thoughts: I find this passage to be simultaneously encouraging and challenging. It is encouraging in the sense that as a believer, I am confident that I will stand – victoriously – on Mount Zion with Christ. Now it is challenging in the sense that I am called to maintain my purity before God. This life presents myriad opportunities for believers to lose their purity; even if a believer resides in a First World country, they can drift away from God by being attracted to wealth and prestige. Believers in First World countries are also not immune to the disease of spiritual apathy – especially since they are not subject to state-sponsored persecution. My prayer is that I would draw closer to God as time passes, maintain my purity, and join Christ in victory on Mount Zion.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

