jump to navigation

The Dead are Judged March 12, 2016

Posted by flashbuzzer in Books, Christianity.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Here are my thoughts on Revelation 20:11-15.

Summary: In this passage, John observes the throne of God – where the dead are judged based on their (recorded) deeds. If their names are not found in the book of life, then they are thrown into the lake of fire – which is the second death.

Thoughts: This passage reminds me of the third verse of Jesus Paid It All. In particular, I know that my earthly deeds do not merit a mention in the book of life; thus, I am completely dependent on the:

  • grace of God in my election to His family
  • finished work of Jesus Christ in securing my election.

Since I am constantly aware of my sinfulness, I cannot imagine boasting about my earthly deeds before the throne of God. That being said, I pray that the Holy Spirit would continue to work in me so that my earthly deeds would demonstrate that I am mentioned in the book of life. Moreover, I pray that when I stand before the throne of God, I would be able to rejoice in (and with) Him during the proclamation of His (recorded) deeds through me in this life.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

