jump to navigation

The Believers Share Their Possessions May 8, 2016

Posted by flashbuzzer in Books, Christianity.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Here are my thoughts on Acts 4:32-37.

Summary: In this passage, wealthy believers used their possessions to meet the daily needs of their destitute brethren. In particular, believers such as Joseph liquidated assets such as land or houses and allowed the apostles to distribute the proceeds to penurious believers. The apostles continued to share the Gospel message.

Thoughts: This passage highlights the concern that wealthy believers in the early church displayed for their destitute brethren. It also challenges the modern church: for those of us with disposable income, how can we help our brothers and sisters with genuine needs (e.g. believers in Pakistan)? This caused me to perform an inventory of my assets, including:

  • my car
  • my television
  • my computer.

At this point I do not sense that God is calling me to sell these assets and distribute the proceeds to penurious believers. I do sense, though, that God is calling me to resist the temptation to become attached to these assets. My prayer is that God would help me to:

  • grow in my concern for my destitute brothers and sisters in Christ
  • continue to perform concrete actions that help meet their daily needs.
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

