jump to navigation

Strolling Through the Book of Jeremiah January 25, 2017

Posted by flashbuzzer in Books, Christianity.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I’ve recently started reading through the Book of Jeremiah with the aid of a commentary by Calvin. I should note that I’ve previously read through Jeremiah. As in my recent stroll through the book of Acts, I hope to comprehend Jeremiah as a whole. Regular readers of this blog will also know that this is my first stroll through a book of the Old Testament; thus, I am eager to acquire a greater understanding of God’s unchanging nature.

I plan to blog about this experience as I read through both the book and Calvin’s commentary. Each post will correspond to a specific section in the NIV translation.

For starters, here are my thoughts on Jeremiah 1:1-3.

Summary: In this passage, we see that God called Jeremiah as His prophet. Jeremiah’s ministry encompassed the reign of at least three kings of Judah:

God spoke through him until the people of Jerusalem were exiled by the Babylonians.

Thoughts: In verse 3, we see that Jeremiah’s prophetic ministry concluded when the people of Jerusalem were forced into exile. Thus, it would appear that his ministry concluded on a disappointing note – as he was ultimately unsuccessful in compelling his countrymen to heed God’s warnings. Yet this raises a salient question: was his ministry a failure in the eyes of God? Did he accomplish all of the tasks that God had assigned him? I shall have to continue my stroll in order to answer that question…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

