jump to navigation

Two Baskets of Figs May 3, 2017

Posted by flashbuzzer in Books, Christianity.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Here are my thoughts on Jeremiah 24.

Summary: In this passage, God shows Jeremiah two baskets of figs that have been placed in front of His temple in Jerusalem. One basket contains good figs, and the other basket contains bad figs. He then makes the following assertions:

  • the good figs represent the people of Judah who have already been exiled to Babylon; indeed, He will restore them to their homeland and renew their relationship with Him
  • the bad figs represent the people of Judah who remain in Jerusalem; indeed, He will destroy them.

Thoughts: In verse 1, we see that King Nebuchadnezzar exiled King Jehoiachin – and all skilled workers – from Jerusalem to Babylon. Calvin offers some thoughts on this point:

King Jehoiachin (Jeconiah) had been carried away into exile along with leading men and the craftsmen…For everything of any value had been removed by their conquerors, and we know that Nebuchadnezzar was full of avarice and rapacity.

Lately I have been practicing lectio divina; when I apply this approach, I attempt to situate myself in the passage at hand and identify with at least one character. For this passage, I determined that given my educational background and skill set, I could have been an official in the government of King Jehoiachin; in particular, I could have been a tax collector. In that case, I would have rejected Jeremiah’s prophecies and viewed him as a raving lunatic; I would have felt quite secure in my political position. In light of that sobering reality, I am thankful for God’s grace – as He has enabled me – from a young age – to view my skill set as a critical part of my relationship with Him.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

